top of page

Single Mothers

by Angel Scott


My mother and I often argue about insignificant things. I think she's trying to hold onto me, but each argument over being picked up by a friend, or staying out too late makes me drift further and further from her grasp. I know she doesn't want me to leave, but I'll be eighteen in six months, moving to college in a year and a half, and it's just how life paced itself. The closer I get to leaving the harder she pushes me to stay. 


Single mothers are some of the strongest people I know. My mother was left behind with three children. Ever since the day my father died she has been worried about the future-- a constant frustration furrowed in her face. She has constantly pushed forward, through financial struggles, problems with my brothers, and deciding to stay working or devoting her time to us kids. I think this is why it has been so hard for her to let me go, because despite our bickering, we hold one another together. 


I don't personally know many single mothers but I have read many works from their perspective. There is a certain strength that comes with raising kids, but there is also a lot of fear, that fear doubles when there is only one parent. There is an overwhelming sense that your child will get hurt and you may not be able to protect them. My mother has this never-ending fear because she is the only one left to keep us from doing something stupid. She is the only one left to protect us. 


With it being International Women's Month I wanted to write about my mother because we may not agree on most things but we share a special respect and love for one another. Women have to stick together because otherwise our worlds will fall apart; we are the only ones to know each other's daily struggles, the effects of toxic masculinity, the ladders we are forced to climb and almost never reach the top. It is important to appreciate every contribution to society, whether that's a working woman, or a single mom. 

Recent Posts

See All

Career Interview: Mrs. Pisacano

by Zoe Bedregal Q: How long have you been teaching? A: I’ve been teaching French for sixteen years, three in New York,  and the rest here. Q: Where have you taught, and what were your experiences ther

Interview with Mr. Clinger 

by Jia J. Johnson & Nana Adwoa Kyeremateng Q: Where have you taught? A: I taught at Western Heights before BISFA for seven years, there I taught all of the eighth-grade US studies classes, and it was

bottom of page