top of page

Interview with Mr. Clinger 

by Jia J. Johnson & Nana Adwoa Kyeremateng


Q: Where have you taught? 


A: I taught at Western Heights before BISFA for seven years, there I taught all of the eighth-grade US studies classes, and it was good. I’ve been here for almost eleven years now, and it’s been a very great experience. I’ve taught a lot of different courses here, US Studies, AP world, and AP U.S. Studies for some years, and it makes me very happy and fulfilled.


Q: What is your favorite part of teaching? 


A: I think feeling like you might be doing something that could help someone, not even just in the subject of social studies but real-world issues too. It’ll always be useful to know how to corroborate claims, learn to support them with evidence, and just articulate why you believe what you do, those have lifelong benefits. You might not go into social studies but no matter what you do you’ll need to be able to, or at least should be able to have mature conversations with those you disagree with, and respect for all those around you.


Q: What is your favorite class to teach? 


A: AP US History would’ve been but it hasn’t been offered the last couple of years, it just doesn’t always work out with scheduling. Probably because my major in college is U.S. Studies and it’s just really interesting to me, I do love my World History courses too of course.


Q: What inspired you to pursue a career in History? 


A: I had a great high school history teacher, Mr. Harry Davis. He made my history class extremely enjoyable, and the way that he presented information was engaging which made me more passionate about learning it. A good teacher, I think, really makes a big difference and teaches you to appreciate the material. But also I think I just always liked it, maybe not even for a specific reason I just always did, everyone has their interests that aren’t entirely explainable.


Q: What are some important things you’ve learned from teaching? 

A: Everybody responds to instruction differently, if you value student success you have to learn who they each are to be a good teacher to them. If they’re off-topic how do you get them back on task, whether it's standing beside them, or calling them out, motivation is different. The better you know your audience and students, the easier it is for them to succeed.


Q: What is your favorite memory of teaching? 


A: I’m not sure I have one, and I know that this is a bad answer but I just find it difficult to pick out one good memory. Teaching is something I do, and enjoy doing every day, but I have a hard time picking out one memory or a couple. It’s not what you were looking for but I think it’s honest. I think it’s just broadly when someone masters a skill or objective after struggling with it. Lots of those stories, doing the same things you do every day, I do remember things and specific memories from teaching but there’s no top two or top three. 


Q: Are you happy with a career in education? 


A: I could joke about wanting to do rock and roll in a band or fly fishing all day but it’s always been history. I like thinking about doing something in some way that could positively affect someone. Teaching affords you that opportunity. There’s no price tag or value on helping other people grow, I think I was always going to do this.


Q: How do you combat and prevent burnout? 


A: It depends on what burns you out. The easiest part of being here is the exceptional students and admin, those things don’t pose stress. I come in every morning to be productive with my time. If there’s homework to do, do it but prioritize family and soccer practices for kids, and the moments you can’t get back. Don’t ever let work intrude on that. Know what needs to get done, and what can wait. Hard to get everything done between 9-4:30, but having a family is a responsibility that I have to be present. I love my job but priorities are extremely important to be conscious of.


Q: What do you think someone would need to have to be a teacher? 


A: Patience.


Q: Is there anything else you think is important to note about teaching or otherwise? 


A: Two things: 1. Do things for a career you enjoy and it will never feel like work, 2. Treat people the way you want to be treated, value them, build relationships with them, and find care and empathy for all those around you. Being good at a job like teaching and bettering yourself as a human kind goes hand and hand. I’ve truly learned so much from teaching.


Recent Posts

See All

Career Interview: Mrs. Pisacano

by Zoe Bedregal Q: How long have you been teaching? A: I’ve been teaching French for sixteen years, three in New York,  and the rest here. Q: Where have you taught, and what were your experiences ther

bottom of page